The Star Newspaper’s Chief Operating Officer, Agnes Kalekye has been elected as Chair of the Media Owners Association of Kenya during the association’s Annual General Meeting held on Friday, April 28, 2023.

Mediamax Group Chief Executive Officer, Ken Ngaruiya has been elected Vice Chairman as Kass TV CEO, Julius Lamaon gets Honorary Secretary post.

Other officials voted in include Radio 44 Managing Director Arjun Ruzaik (Treasurer) and his KBC counterpart Samuel Maina (Organizing Secretary).

Kalekye is taking over from Nation Media Group CEO Stephen Gitagama, who served as Chairman for three successive terms. He thanked members for supporting him during his tenure.

“I would like to thank members for their support during my tenure and I wish the new team all the best,” Gitagama said.

Speaking after being elected, Kalekye highlighted three key areas where she’ll be focusing during her reign.

“As chair, my priority will be to protect the interest of members, promote excellence in journalism to uphold the highest standard of ethics as well as embrace new technologies as we adapt to changing landscape in the industry to build a stronger resilient media industry in Kenya,” she said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *