Skoda Fabia’s Samman Vohra secured his second win of the 2024 Kenya National Rally Championship season following brilliant displays in Nanyuki.

The son of former Kenya Motor Sports Federation (KMSF) Chairman the late JS Vohra, led the Nanyuki Rally Group round from start to finish winning six out of six stages.

Defending Champion Jasmeet Chana came in second incidentally on his very first outing behind the wheel of a Ford Fiesta R5.

The legendary Ian Duncan, winner of the 1994 WRC Safari Rally, completed the podium winning the Classic Car category at the wheel of his Datsun 280Z.

Samman won the season- opening event in Eldoret but retired on Safari following a mishap on Kasarani SSS Stage.

Aakif Virani, winner of Nanyuki Rally in 2021, suffered adversity when his Skoda Fabia R5 went up in flames on CS4, the repeat run of Mlima Hema speed test. Both Aakif and his navigator escaped unscathed.

Following the stopping of SS 4 – Mlima Hema 2 due to an incident involving Aakif’s Skoda, and in accordance with Article 44 and 44.1 of the KMSF National Competition Rules (NCRs), a time of 21:57.9 was allocated to Ian Duncan, Shakeel Khan, Joey Ghose, lady driver Lisa Christoffersen and youngster Neel Gohil who finished fifth overall.

“Having considered that cars No. 7, 20, 25, 55 and 99 were shown a red flag, following the fire incident, and having considered that times and split times set before the stopping of the stage, a time of 21:57.9 was allocated to the rest of the drivers,” said Clerk of the Course Bimal Patel.

Nanyuki Rally is one of the longest running KNRC events. It joined the elite KNRC series in 1998, incidentally the same year former  President Moi’s son, the late Jonathan Toroitich, aka JT, emerged the Victor.

Following the weekend result, Samman now reclaims the KNRC lead from Carl Tundo who did not enter the Nanyuki leg.  He now leads the series on 66points followed by Jasmeet Chana on 53.

Reigning Champion Jasmeet said: “Nanyuki was good. We managed P2 despite some teething problems with our new Fiesta. In one of the stages our radiator was clogged up with grass, so the engine was running hot, but  after that we were okay.  We are getting used to the new car.”


1.Samman Vohra-Alfir Khan (Skoda Fabia RC5) 01h49m35.5s

3 Ian Duncun- Kavit Dave (Datsun 280Z Classic) 01h58.41.7s

6   Shakeel Khan- Assad Mughal (Ford Escort) 2h24m54.4s




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *