Several public figures have been appointed to Talanta Hela Council committees.

Talanta Hela initiative is a bold step by the Kenyan government to support the growth of the country’s sports and creative economy, create employment opportunities, and position Kenya as a destination of choice for sports tourism and film-making.

Further, the council will also include the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Sports, the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Youth Affairs and the Arts, the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Basic Education, and representatives from the Council of Governors.

Working under the CS, several personalities including David Langat, Debra Mallowah, Abraham Kipyego Mutai, Charles Gacheru, Claudia Naisabwa Leshomoo, Nobert Ouma, June Chepkemei, and Dennis Itumbi were appointed for a period of three years.

This committee will be responsible for promoting the growth of sports, supporting the Kenya Academy of Sports, using technology to identify and nurture talent, establishing a framework to monetize sports and expand employment opportunities, managing the annual bottom-up football tournament, and supporting the Harambee Stars and Harambee Starlets in their respective pursuits.

The Creatives Technical Committee under the leadership of Daniel Ndambuki (Churchill) as Chairperson comprises 10 members, including Akinyi Odongo, Jimmi Gathu, Catherine Kamau, Esther Akoth, Kizito Makhande, Azziad Nasenya, Rosemary Wahu Kagwi, Awadhi Salim Awadhi, Douglas Kipkirui Langat, and Susan Ekasiba.

The committee will be responsible for proposals related to the collection and distribution of royalties, implementing the National Creatives Economy Plan, managing the National Creatives Awards, monetizing the creatives sector, upgrading arts facilities and infrastructure, and promoting Kenya as a top film-making destination.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *